Art Book Review: Groundwork of Gurren Lagann the Movie – The Lights in The Sky

IMG_8540

I love getting art books. Although I have quite a few of them, this is the first genga/key animation book I’ve gotten. I’ve been looking to get one for a while, and this was a great pick up!

Groundwork of Gurren Lagann the Movie – The Lights in the Sky is a collection of artwork, mainly sketches and storyboards,  from the second Gurren Lagann movie that was released back in 2009. The first eight pages of the book contain colored sketches, with the rest of the book in black and white. The book has a total of 276 pages and is currently priced at 3000 yen (about $30 USD), not including shipping. From what I’ve seen scouring the web for key animation books, $30 seems to be the standard price.

IMG_8556

Considering that I’ve bought a lot of full color 80 page artbooks for around 20-30 dollars, 30 dollars is an good price for this book, especially if your a fan of the Gurren Lagann series. However, it’s understandable why you get less pages in a full-color art book; the cost of producing the book is much higher. Still, if you are really into animation like me, a key animation book just seems like a better deal. I love looking at the original sketches and how a scene is put together.

Being my first genga book, I can’t really comment too much on how this compares to other genga collections. Although, from what I’ve read when I was deciding on whether to get to get this book, this book is apparently better than the other Gurren Lagann groundwork books. Here’s a few shots of what it looks like:

IMG_8557

IMG_8562

IMG_8564

IMG_8568

IMG_8569

IMG_8571IMG_8572

I highly recommend getting this book if you’re interested in the Gurren Lagann series and key animation. I’ve found it for 3000 yen on both HobbyLink Japan and CD Japan,  though my recommendation would be to get it from CD Japan. I’ve ordered quite a lot of stuff from their site and it’s always shipped quickly and packaged well.

That’s all for today! Tomorrow I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the first week of the summer anime season.

One response to “Art Book Review: Groundwork of Gurren Lagann the Movie – The Lights in The Sky

  1. Pingback: Art Book Review: Squad – Concept Designs for “BEATLESS” | Skycell Blogs·

Leave a Reply

