Summer Anime 2013: Short Second Week Wrap-Up

Another week has passed, and with it came even more new series for the summer 2013 anime season.  Most of what the season had to offer aired last week, so the list this week will be rather short compared to my first week impressions. On top of that, the Internet is incredibly slow here so I can’t really watch a lot even if I wanted to.

What I Watched This Week:

  1. Watashi ga Motenai no wa Dou Kangaetemo Omaera ga Warui! (Watamote)
  2. Fate Kaleid Liner Prisma Illya
  3. Gatchaman Crowds
  4. Choujigen Game Neptune: The Animation
  5. Gin no Saji

I think the only second season series I’m watching right now is Highschool DxD. I’m working on completing the past Monogatari, World God Only Knows, and Rozen Maiden seasons so I can start the new seasons that started airing, but seeing as I’m on vacation… they probably won’t be completed too soon…

Watashi ga Motenai no wa Dou Kangaetemo Omaera ga Warui! (Watamote)

Summer-2013-Watamote

I’d say that this was arguably the most hyped series to air this season.  I haven’t read the manga yet, I may sometime in the future, and so going into it I didn’t really understand the hype behind the show.

The show follows Tomoko Kuroki, a girl who basically defines the word socially awkward to the point that you feel sad for her. Going into high school Tomoko thinks that she will be super popular, but flash forward two months and Tomoko hasn’t talked to any of her classmates. She realizes that not talking to anyone at school for two months has made it incredibly hard to talk to anyone except her family and comes to the realization that she needs to change.

watamote_01_2

If you’re not a fan of dark humor, this is probably not the show for you. That being said, I’m not really a fan of dark humor myself, yet I found the show to be pretty hilarious at some points. There are a lot of awkward situations, which I generally don’t like to watch because for some reason they make me feel awkward as well, however the comedy seems to balance this factor out.

In my opinion, I don’t think this show matches the hype that was associated with it, however I think it’s pretty good. I was hesitant upon watching the first few minutes, but the further I got into it, the better it got.

Score: 8/10

Doesn’t Match The Hype, But Still Funny If You’re Fine With Dark Humour

^Back to the List^

Fate Kaleid Liner Prisma Illya

fate kaleid1

Yep, another Magical Girl series; I think it’s the third one this season? I haven’t really watched too many of them, but I have enjoyed the few I’ve seen (e.g. Madoka and Cardcaptor). Seeing as this was a spin off of the Fate/Stay night series, which I thought was pretty good, I knew I was going to pick this series up.

The story takes place in an alternate universe where Illyasviel von Einzbern is attending school. After a series of events she is tricked into becoming a magical girl and must now go around collecting class cards. From what I saw, it seems like these class cards will basically summon the servants that were in Fate/stay night.

Screen shot 2013-07-14 at 6.55.40 PM

I don’t know what is with all the magical girl series this season, but they all involve the use of cards.  Like I said, I haven’t really watched many so I don’t know if this is a common thing or not.

When I reviewed the first episode of Fantasista Dolls I stated that it felt like a rip off of Cardcaptor. I’m not going as far as saying that for this series, though it does seem to contain some elements that are Cardcaptorish. Now I’m really not trying to over generalizing here and state that all magical girl anime series with cards are like a rip off of Cardcaptor, but when some things are visually similar you have to think that these shows were at least inspired partly by Cardcaptor in some way. I mean look at the staff… I noticed this straight away. I mean… could you not have come up with a more original staff design?

Fate Kaleid:

Screen shot 2013-07-14 at 6.56.51 PM

Carcaptor Sakura:

l

My little rant aside, I thoroughly enjoyed the first episode. I found it nice to see the characters from Fate/stay night in a different setting. I’m not expecting the plot to be amazing since so far the show has displayed itself as a comedy series. There isn’t really anything to rave over, but it’s enjoyable to watch and will give you a few good laughs.

Score:  7/10

Enjoyable Comedy and Magical Girl Series, Even More So For Those Who Watched Fate/stay Night

^Back to the List^

Gatchaman Crowds

8a8f4ba065f10505dda27133cba3c4071373404206_full

This was the only series on this list that I knew absolutely nothing about.  Watching the first few minutes, I honestly thought Sugane (the blond haired kid) was either going to murder everyone in the mall or try to prevent a terrorist attack. To my surprise however, it turns out that this show actually involves kicking alien butt in special suits.

To be more specific, the story follows the “Gatchaman” – a group of individuals who protect Earth from aliens using special suits to fight. These suits are powered by NOTES, which are manifestations of their souls.

Screen shot 2013-07-14 at 10.32.24 PM

The story seems rather interesting so far, but there are a few things taking away from it right now. Firstly, I find that the main character Hajime can be kind of annoying at points; she can be ditzy to the point that it starts to get on your nerves. Secondly, the battle scenes are way too short. Now I’m not asking for a battle scene that lasts for half the episode or anything, but the first one lasted a good 30 seconds if that and the  second one was over in about 2 minutes. The fight scenes look cool and the battle music is pretty awesome, I just want them to last a little bit longer. On top of all that, I don’t know how to explain it really, but I just felt kind of “meh” while watching it. There were no points that made me laugh or where I found myself think “Wow, that’s pretty awesome!”

I have the feeling that I may like it more after watching a couple more episodes, but based on what I saw in the first episode, I found it rather average.

Score: 6/10

Seems Average. May Get Better With More Episodes

^Back to the List^

Choujigen Game Neptune: The Animation

url

At Anime North this year I decided to buy a few HyperDimension Neptunia games after my friend recommended the series to me. I’m definitely glad I picked them up. I have spent many mindless hours playing them.

While I still haven’t finished the first game (I think I ‘m around 70% completion), I decided to pick up the show.  I didn’t read the synopsis and kind of assumed that the show would start off at the beginning of the first game. Seeing as I haven’t played the other game I don’t know exactly where the animation fits in relation, but I definitely know it takes place after the first game.

Screen shot 2013-07-14 at 11.12.16 PM

The story takes place in Gamindustri, where four Goddesses govern the land that has been split into four states: Planeptune, Lastation, Lowee and Leanbox. The Goddesses decide to sign a Friendship Treaty to forbid them from fighting each other and taking Shares, the source of a their power, by force. The first episode focused more on Noire and Neptune’s relationship as Neptune tries to act more like a Goddess in order to gain more Shares. It looks like the next episodes will focus more around a central issue when they air.

Screen shot 2013-07-14 at 11.15.52 PM

Noire is best girl

Now you can still watch the show if you haven’t played the games, but I would recommend playing them first as things will be a lot clearer if you have played them. I wasn’t sure how making the game into an anime series would turn out, but so far it seems like it’s turned out alright.

Score: 7/10

Seems Alright At the Moment. Highly Recommend Playing the Games Before Watching

^Back to the List^

Gin no Saji

e7ab74d2550962d96ed65cd0220938981366201424_full

I love watching slice of life series but have yet to watch any that center around agricultural studies. I figured this would definitely be an interesting watch.

The story follows Yugo Hachiken as he attends agricultural school to get away from his family. Being a great student he figures that agricultural school won’t be a problem, however he soon finds that he isn’t as cut out for agricultural life as he thought he would be.

Screen shot 2013-07-15 at 11.17.52 AM

I really enjoyed watching the first episode. Like Servant x Service, it is a nice change of pace compared to the usual school life series and the comedy is great. On top of that, you can even learn a thing or two about agriculture. This will be one that I’ll definitely keep watching!

Screen shot 2013-07-15 at 11.29.47 AM

Dat face

Score: 9/10

Great Slice of Life! Definitely check it out!

^Back to the List^

Wrap-Up

Well, that’s it for what I watched the second week. I’ll probably post some more thoughts on the summer season after all the episode 3 or 4s have aired and let you know what I drop and which ones are still good. Time to go play so Project Diva F on my Vita! Catch you later!

2 responses to “Summer Anime 2013: Short Second Week Wrap-Up

  1. Wow, I can’t believe you feel that way about Gatchaman Crowds. I totally loved it, and I was very pumped the entire episode from the second I pressed play. I agree with you though, that the battle scenes are short, but I think, for the first episode (haven’t seen the 2nd one yet) it was short+sweet; it was sort of like an intro to their Gatchaman power, and what they do, that’s how I interpreted it. As for Choujigen, I just watched it yesterday, and couldn’t even finish the first episode because it was way too moe for me. That, paired with the ecchi (which I never usually mind) just seemed like such a weird mix to me, and they weren’t really saying anything interesting anyway, so I dropped it in a heartbeat. And, Gin no Saji is seems like it’ll be a super fun wave to ride! I was a few minutes into the first episode and it already made me laugh a ton! Lastly, I see you gave the magical girl/comedy series a higher rating than Gatchaman Crowds. Perhaps Gatcha is less of your type? I personally am in love with action shonen, so I would give it a higher rating. ;]

    • Yeah, I can see your point. Keeping the battle scenes short in the first episode allowed them to not reveal too much about the full extent of their powers and give you just a taste of what to expect. It just seemed like they were kind of overpowered in the first episode since the enemies didn’t put up much of a fight. Also, it’s not that Gatcha isn’t really my type, it’s just that I found the first episode of Fate/Kaleid more enjoyable than Gatcha’s first episode.

      As for Neptune, if I hadn’t played the games I’m not sure if I’d still be watching it. When I saw the game was going to have an anime adaptation, I was really worried about how it would turn out. The first episode seemed pretty flat to me.

      And yeah, Gin no Saji seems like it’ll be great! It was my favorite out of the new series I watched during the second week!

Leave a Reply

