Sayonara Money: Steam Summer Sale and Other Damage To My Wallet

steam sale

These past couple of weeks have been absolute hell for my mind and my wallet. I was expecting the Steam Summer Sale, my body and wallet were ready. I knew what I was getting into. This video pretty much sums it up perfectly.


What I failed to consider at the beginning of July were the number of figures that were being released this month that I really wanted to get. A few days before I had ordered Nendoroid Hatsune Miku: Yukata Ver. Natsutsubaki and Madoka Kaname: Maiko Ver.  after they were released for sale online the day after Anime Expo closed. I also knew that I wanted to order two of the figures being put up for sale at the end of the month during Summer Wonderfest. However, I did not expect to find that figma Hatsune Miku 2.0 had gone up for pre-order and that AmiAmi had some Strike Witches scale figures which I have been looking for for a while now. Let’s just say I got a bit carried away and my wallet has basically been disintegrated this month as a result.

Anyways the damage is done now. I think I spent around $120 on games during the summer sale. Getting Skyrim really boosted up how much I ended up spending. Here’s a list of all the games I picked up:

  • the Just Cause Bundle
  • The Last Remnant
  • Carpe Fulger Collection
  • Sleeping Dogs + the DLC collection
  • the GTA Complete Pack
  • Mark of the Ninja
  • Company of Heroes Complete Pack
  • Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Legendary
  • Sid Meier’s Civilization V: Gold
  • Strike Suit Zero Mega Bundle
  • Counter Strike: Global Offensive

My vacation is going pretty well so far, aside from the fact my wallet vaporized. I’ll have another figure review up later this week. Did anyone else get hit hard by the Steam Summer Sale, or perhaps by the figures that have gone up for pre-order this month?

2 responses to “Sayonara Money: Steam Summer Sale and Other Damage To My Wallet

  1. Sales and openings of pre-orders. They do time it very well to destroy wallets. LOL. We don’t have sales like that in the Philippines and most of the time it’s a wait and buy thing. That’s why we love to say “dapat lagi kang may bala” (you should always have bullet) so we can take advantage of the sale. When I started, I felt like I needed to pre-order everything since I want to make sure I’ll have it. After a year of collecting, I put my pre-order list at a minimum and wait for local toy stores to go on sale. I only pre-order stuff that I think will be difficult to buy after the pre-order period. I envy you since you can schedule the sales and stuffs. 🙂 Nice list of games!!!!

    • Ahhh, that sucks that you don’t have many sales there. Though maybe that is a good thing in a way, since people tend to overspend when there are sales; at least I do.

      I only started collecting in May and I have that feeling you had; needing to pre-order everything. Unfortunately, I don’t have many (if any) shops around my area that sell anime and Vocaloid figures, so ordering online is kind of my only option. You’re lucky that you have stores near you that sell figures 🙂

Leave a Reply

