Hanna-Justina Marseille 1/8 Scale Figure by Alter: Unboxing & Review

About a month ago when I was browsing AmiAmi, I happened upon this Strike Witches 1/8 scale figure of Hanna-Justina Marseille by Alter!

IMG_8480

Like I said in my last post, I was looking for the Gertrud Barkhorn 1/8 scale for quite some time (I actually just ordered her at a pretty good price), so I wasn’t sure at the time if I was willing to make the investment of 6,980 yen (around $70 USD). I had never ordered a scale figure online before and the price tag was rather high for me ($70 bucks is around average for scale figures), considering I had previously stuck to Nendoroids which were priced around 3000-4000 yen ($30-40 USD).

I really liked Hanna in Strike Witches 2, though she wasn’t one of my favorites, so I gave myself a day or two to think it over. Based on the fact that the detail on her looked amazing in pictures and since I planned at the time to buy the whole line of Strike Witches figures by Alter, I decided to go ahead and order her despite my initial hesitation at the price tag.

Konachan.com - 111367 hanna-justina_marseille katou_keiko sakamoto_mio strike_witches wilma_bishop

Hanna was by no means a main character in Strike Witches 2, only showing up in episode 10 and for a brief moment at the end of episode 12. For those of you haven’t seen or read Strike Witches, the animal traits each witch displays are a result of them synchronizing with their familiars. In Hanna’s case, the familiar traits displayed are from the Stellar’s Sea Eagle.

She went up for pre-order back in October 2012 and was scheduled for release at a price of 8,800 yen in February 2013. However, this release date was delayed a few months and she ended up shipping out to buyers in late May 2013. Like I said, I bought mine in late May on AmiAmi, so I wasn’t affected by the delay.

Currently, Alter has manufactured 1/8 scale figures of 10 witches from the Strike Witches series. Scale figures for Francesca Lucchini and Lynette Bishop are in the works, so you can only get 9 out of the 11 main witches at the moment.

Now, let’s take a better look at the box.

IMG_8482

Front view

IMG_8488

Back of the box

IMG_8485

Side View

IMG_8489

Other Side of the Box

To be honest, I was kind of taken aback by the sheer size of the box at first; this being my first scale figure that I’ve ordered online. With her base, Hanna stands approximately 240mm high, so I should have actually been expecting it.

IMG_8491

Here she is fresh out of the box. As you can see there is a tiny bit of assembly required, as expected. The MG34 that she comes with is almost as tall as her whole body!

IMG_8496

She looks really nice in the preview photos, and even better when you see her with your own eyes. The amount of detail put into this figure is simply stunning. I mean look at that MG34 for starters!!

IMG_8498

As you could probably tell from the photos above, Hanna comes with two different sets of propellers for her Striker unit; one which looks as though the propeller is in motion and another in which the propeller is not in motion. it’s fairly quick and easy to switch the propellers out if you want to. Just pop of the bottom of the Strike unit, choose you propeller, place it in between the two Strike pieces, push them back together and viola!

IMG_8519

It looks like I forgot to take pictures of this before I left on vacation, but I’ll mention it anyways. Hanna’s left arm actually comes off to make it easier for you to position the gun under her arm.

Alright, let’s take a look at her set up on her stand.

IMG_8499

The “Star of Africa”

IMG_8501

I’m amazed at how this small piece holds up the entire figure.

IMG_8502

She looks rather triumphant

IMG_8504

I really like the way her hair flows

IMG_8512

Anyone care to guess what games I have back there?

IMG_8505

Stunning from all angles

IMG_8511

Prepare for launch!

Time for some close ups now!

IMG_8506

I always love looking at the Striker units on my Strike Witches figures

IMG_8508

Another shot of the wonderfully detailed MG34

IMG_8509

The face is always the biggest selling point for me on a scale figure

IMG_8516

She looks beautiful!

IMG_8515

Here’s a look at her tail

IMG_8521

Here’s how the Striker looks with the other propeller

IMG_8520

To Buy or Not To Buy? That is the Question.

Like I always say, the first thing to consider when buying a figure is how much you like the character. That being said, even if you’re not a Strike Witches fan, this figure is well worth the price. I own a few other scale figures that I’ve bought at conventions and a bunch of Nendoroids, but this is by far the nicest figure in my entire collection at the moment. The amount of detail in this figure is amazing and I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of looking at her. I don’t have a single complaint about this figure; it’s perfect just the way it is.

There aren’t many Hanna-Justina Marseille figures on the market and the only two prepainted ones are this one by Alter and another by Volks. So if you’re looking for a Hanna figure, I would take a look at either this one or the one by Volks. However, if your looking for pictures from owners of the one by Volks, you’ll have to wait a bit, as it still hasn’t been released yet since it has succumbed to multiple delays

If you’re looking for places to ordered, I would suggest checking out AmiAmi while they still have her in stock. Currently she’s priced the cheapest there, on for the same price I bought her; 6,980 yen (around $70 USD). If you’re fine with pre-owned, there’s also one for 6,380 yen on their site (It’s probably in pretty good condition since she was released only two months ago. I’ll also link a few other sites as well if she’s already out of stock by the time you read this article.

  1. AmiAmi – Character & Hobby Shop
  2. Nippon Yasan
  3. Hobby Search
  4. Plamoya

Also, if you really want the Volks one it’s on Nippon Yasan for pre-order currently, however it’s really overpriced.

An Awesome Blog You May Be Interested In

Finally, I want to mention an awesome blog that you may be interested in. A Figure’s Story is a blog all about, yeah you guessed it, figures!! Check it out if you’re interested in figure reviews or figure photography. You can check out the latest article below!

9325587565_a9d9eeb7a1_b

Angel Beats – Tenshi Figure Review

That’s all for now! Hope this unboxing and review was helpful!

Previous Unboxing and Review Articles

Gertrud Thumb

Gertrud Barkhorn Nendoroid Unboxing

Hatsune Miku 2.0 Unboxing

Hatsune Miku 2.0 Nendoroid Unboxing

9 responses to “Hanna-Justina Marseille 1/8 Scale Figure by Alter: Unboxing & Review

  1. Very nice pictures and review. Hanna made for an interesting episode that season especially since Erica, who she harassed throughout that episode I believe, is my favorite.

    • Thank you! 😀
      Yeah, it was nice to see them bring in a character from the Karlsland witches’ past and provide a episode focused on Erica. Rivalries always make for an interesting topic.

  2. The figure’s very nice! I especially love the fans coloring. It makes it more alive. Action in every inch of the figure is present! Hair, skirt, tail, ears and the fans. Thanks for posting this. This definitely made her figure in my wishlists. 😉

  3. Thanks for the review and the detailed pictures. I ordered her about a week ago and is awaiting her arrival. Now I know what I’ll get when she arrives. I know Alter’s reputation, but Hanna is the very first Alter figurine I ever have, so I kinda worried a little bit, considering her price. Not to mention that I have no idea who the heck she is, other than a flyer with a very cool eyes and expression that make me fell in love at first sight. The only downside of this review is that now I’m getting even more impatience waiting ^^. Why can’t she just fly here from Japan?

    • You’re welcome!! Hanna was actually my very first Alter figure as well!
      Haha, sorry about making you even more anxious waiting for her arrival. I get very anxious too whenever I know I figure is coming in the mail. And yeah, it would be pretty awesome if she could have just flown to your house 😀

  4. Pingback: Gertrud Barkhorn 1/8 Scale by Alter: Unboxing & Review | Skycell Blogs·

Leave a Reply

