This Is Why I Stopped Gaming Before

Konachan.com - 36308 aqua_hair blue_hair bow brown_hair console green_hair group headphones kaito long_hair masuneko meiko parody short_hair touhou twintails vocaloid

I’m sure everyone has experienced the feeling of being swept up in something so much that you end up losing track of time. It’s like you’re in your own little world and anything outside that bubble around you is completely ignored. You become so absorbed that you can’t hear anyone around you and you lose track of time. Seconds turn into minutes, and minutes turn into countless hours.

This is exactly what happens to me whenever I game. I’ll be honest, I used to be a huge gamer when I was younger. In my later elementary to early high school years I was one of those kids who would go home, grab a snack, then game for the rest of the evening and night.

110727-id-1

Naturally, I never really had too much time for many hobbies. As I grew older, I started to find other things I was really interested in as well. Music, editing videos, drawing, writing; the new hobbies just kept on stacking on. As the pile continued to grow I began to realize that I was spreading myself way too thin; I just wasn’t getting anything done. I came to a point where I had to sort out what I was going to do

I decided that I would drop one of my hobbies. Now obviously I really love playing games, but I found my other hobbies to be just as important. I had to ask myself, which ones benefited me the most?  Taking a step back looking at gaming, I found it was taking up the most time out of any of my hobbies. On top of that, compared to say music or drawing, I wasn’t really learning anything by playing games. Sure, I could become better at killing other people online in multiplayer first-person shooter (FPS) games, but how would that help me in real life?

And so, although it was somewhat tough, I decided to stop gaming. I continued to play the occasional game, but I hardly ever bought new games or spent very long playing. With more free time, I was actually able to progress in my other hobbies.

I made a post about a week ago talking about how I bought a bunch of new games on Steam. Since I had bought them while I was on vacation, I didn’t get a chance to download and play them until I got back a few days ago. As I started up the first game, Recettear, I was hit with that same swept up feeling. The next thing I knew four whole hours had past and my afternoon was gone.

medium700_20100922160930_666

Then I started up Civilization V. I just….. I don’t even….. I thought it was like other strategy game; build up your forces and destroy all the enemy teams to win. Well, I spent a good six hours or more in the my first game wondering when I was going to win, when I get the news from my friend that Civilization games can go on forever basically if you want them to……

3tcpfx

So that’s what I’ve been doing for the past couple of days since I’ve gotten back from vacation. I realize that this isn’t going to work as I’ve seen in the past, so I’m trying to scale back any gaming that I do; maybe just dedicate one day of the week to it. It’s tough since I love gaming so much, however it just takes too much of my time. There are so many other things I love doing and not enough time for me to do everything.

I guess this is somewhat of a change from my regular posts; I don’t think I’ve really posted that much personal sort of stuff before. One question to all of you readers before I go: Do you have a hobby that seems to consume a lot of your free time?

5 responses to “This Is Why I Stopped Gaming Before

  1. Yeah… I know that feeling. You sit down saying to yourself you’re gonna spend this much time but you end up spending way more than you estimated. That happens with my image searching hobby too. I’m still working on putting a cap to it.

  2. I love to game, but I never really played like 1 or 2 hours straight(give or take some exceptions). My attention span seems to be lacking on that department xd

    When I draw I lose myself, I can draw for hours. But I want to become better and better. Seeing all those skilled people on the interwebs like sites as Pixiv and DeviantArt, makes me want to grow ever better in drawing. It’s a long road, but it’s a fun one. Nobody can become Rembrandt in one day:p

    I believe its natural to explore your hobbies and passion. You have to try multiple things to figure out if something is spot on. Still letting yourself get consumed by one thing and ignoring the others, also isn’t the way to go. Keep exploring. Nice post.

    • Thank you!
      I love to draw too! I’m actually taking art as one of my majors in university! 😀 It’s a lot of work, but the finished product is always worth it 🙂

  3. Yeah, this has happened to me lot, especially playing games that are heavy in turn-based strategy like Civi or Disgaea. Although, seem to be so much mindful of time when I am playing a 4x game opposed to RPG. I usually don’t go over 2-3 hours a game. However, since everything I do is time consuming, I just manage my time better. Not that hard as it sounds, though.

    • I’m generally pretty good at managing my time, except when it comes to gaming. I’ll try to give myself an hour or two to game, and I usually end up playing for twice as long.

Leave a Reply

