Getting Back Into Drawing: Miku Hatsune

IMG_8957

I think it was back at the beginning of July that I said I was going to get back into drawing. Well, I kind of picked a really bad time to pick it up again back then since a week or so later I went on vacation. I was so busy doing stuff that I didn’t really have much time to draw; I think I tried a couple of times and gave up in frustration. On certain days I’ll can draw really well and on others I just seem to be absolutely terrible; the few times I picked up my sketch pad I experienced the latter.

IMG_8961

With only a few weeks left until my university classes begin, I decided that I should probably start drawing more so I don’t suck when I go to my art classes for the first time. I’m in my third year, but this is the first year I’m taking art classes since I swapped my Computer Science major for an Art & Art History major. Not exactly a smart move as I’ve had to jam pack my schedule to fit all the art requirements into two years. I don’t think I’ll mind the extra work load though; Computer Science felt like hell to me and I love drawing and other hands on things (before you say it, yes, I should have gone to college).

SCN_0002

I blame the whole situation on my high school. The art program there was severely under funded (similar to the music program) and there was such limited choices in classes that I wasn’t able to find out if I would like Computer Science or not before going into university. Actually, I guess I’m also partly to blame since I could have just watched some Youtube videos and learnt some coding before hand to see if I would like it; oh well, what’s done is done.

Well, what do you guys think? I based this Miku drawing off the new design for Japan’s Miku V3 and the Miku design used for the Xperia’s limited edition smartphone.

4 responses to “Getting Back Into Drawing: Miku Hatsune

  1. Well frustration is part of it all. I still believe that you first have to copy a lot, add some twists to it, and eventually try to make your own. Building your visual library is important. Without the proper reference you won’t get anywhere.

    I am most of the times overwhelmed by the artworks on sites as pixiv and dA, but I often forget those people worked hard for years to create what they publish today. Have you considered using a tablet?(nothing beats pen and paper though)

    • Yeah, that’s exactly what I’ve been doing. I’ve been copying different styles to kind of create my own. As for references, in addition to just looking at pictures from pixiv and other sites, I have a couple of how to draw and pose books.
      I used to use a little Wacom Bamboo Craft tablet but then I decided to make a big investment since I’m planning on doing animation and graphic design in the future. I use a Wacom Cintiq 22HD now πŸ˜€

      • I try to be wary about the how-to books, in some way they force you in a particular style and/or make huge leaps in skill level. Not everybody has the same pace, one can have difficulty with the eyes, the other with the shape of the head and so on.

        I think watching is a big part in learning how to draw. I watched a lot of speed painting videos or videos of the drawing process. Watching is also very important.

        I didn’t know for sure how the tablet worked out for me. So I purchased the Wacom Bamboo Fun Pen & Touch M. Works out pretty fine. Perhaps I’ll buy the Wacom cintiq 13hd. But I’m not in a graphical field of work so I don’t really need it, its more of a hobby:p

        Maybe you could do a post about your drawing progress or books you think could help others. Heck maybe I could do such a post haha, I don’t see myself as a good artist, but there are some elements you need to master in my opinion. Keep us updated:p

        • That’s seems like a great idea! I’m not the best at drawing but I suppose I can try my best to offer bits and pieces of advice πŸ™‚

          I love watching speed painting videos. They really get me in the mood to draw. I wish I could do some but it takes me a long time to finish a digital drawing :/

          As for how to draw books, I took my time when searching out which ones to get. It’s true that the pacing in some of them is pretty bad. Maybe I’ll do a post on which reference books I find the best like you suggested πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

