Ys: Memories of Celceta – Silver Anniversary Edition Unboxing

_MG_0150

To be honest, one of the only reasons I own a PS Vita is for Project Diva F. I’m a big fan of visual novels and JRPGs, however the PS Vita is severely lacking in this department (which is why I’ll eventually get a PSP). As a result,  I own very few games for it. However, since Christmas was coming up I decided to ask for a few more games for the system.

_MG_0152

I forget how I ended up finding out about this game, but somehow I stumbled up Ys: Memories of Celceta. I had heard good things about this game series and had even thought that I had bought the first few games on Steam during one of their sales (turns out I never ended up buying them though). With that in mind, I took a look at one of the trailers for the game and was thoroughly intrigued by what I saw.

Instead of getting the regular edition I decided to ask for the Silver Anniversary Edition. The regular edition is priced at $39.99 CAD, but for $20 more you get:

  • 3-CD collection of original and arranged music spanning the entire history of the franchise
  • Cloth map detailing the lands of Celceta
  • Logo-emblazoned compass
  • Adol’s Travel Journal’ containing adventuring strategies and artwork
  • Exclusive commemorative package
  • Ys: Memories of Celceta Game

via Gamestop’s website

_MG_0155

I don’t buy too many limited edition games anymore because what is included often does not interest me. However, when I saw what was included in this box set, I thought that the 3-CD collection of music alone was worth the extra $20. I’m also a sucker for artwork, so when I saw that a journal containing both strategies and artwork was included I was instantly sold.

_MG_0157

Alright, now let’s take a look a the items that were included in the Silver Anniversary Edition. First up is the cloth map of the lands of Celceta.

_MG_0159

I’m generally not very interested in getting physical copies of game maps as I never end up looking at them. The ones that came with the two Elder Scrolls games that I own, Skyrim and Oblivion, still remain folded in the game box.

It’s actually an interesting change to give a cloth map instead of a poster. I was expecting it to look and feel really cheap, however the fabric seems to be of pretty good quality. If I could get those folded creases out of it by ironing it or something, I actually wouldn’t mind displaying it somewhere in my room.

_MG_0161Next up is the travel journal containing both strategies and artwork. It’s pretty similar to the $15-20 strategy guides you can buy for games, just in a smaller format and with a small selection of artwork tacked on at the end (wait, do they even sell strategy guides still? I don’t think I’ve seen any around my local game shops for a while now). Here’s a few pages out of it to give you an idea of what the contents of the journal look like.

_MG_0174_MG_0175_MG_0173_MG_0170_MG_0172_MG_0166_MG_0171

The kind of information included is as follows:

  • Maps of each area that give information on what can be found there
  • Detailed lists of quests for each town
  • A material list that tells you what monster drops it, where you can trade it, etc
  • Information on boss health, strength, etc. and tips on how to defeat it
  • etc.

At the end of the journal there are 16 pages dedicated to some full-color artwork.

_MG_0163 _MG_0164

The coloring style is pretty unique compared to what I usually see on sites like Pixiv and deviantArt.  I’m often fascinated by an illustrator’s grasp and mastery of color since it’s the section of my digital artwork that I’m most unsatisfied with at the moment. That’s probably the reason why I like looking at this artwork so much.

Next up on the list of things included is the logo-emblazoned compass.

_MG_0176 _MG_0177_MG_0178

I don’t know why, but for some reason I thought the compass wouldn’t actually work. Maybe it’s because it sort of looks like a toy out of a Happy Meal from McDonald’s or something. Anyways, I’m really glad that it does work since I didn’t have a working compass before. Now I can go adventuring through the urban landscape of my city and know which way is north!!! Seriously though, it’s pretty cool.

_MG_0179

Well, it looks like all that’s left in the box is the game itself. I could have sworn it was supposed to come with a CD…. Oh wait….

_MG_0180

There it is!!!

_MG_0181

This is item that I was looking forward to the most. I really love soundtracks from movies, games, anime series, etc. Part of this stems from the fact that I’m interested in composing music. I like listening to the way music is structured and try to learn from it in the hope of being able to create some great music one day.

_MG_0184_MG_0185_MG_0183

As you can see, there are a ton of tracks included in these 3-CDs.

Is it worth buying?

_MG_0186

In my opinion, the CDs themselves makes paying the extra $20 for the limited edition totally worth it. The journal contains over 100 pages of useful content which is definitely a plus. The cloth map and compass are nothing to great; I considered them more like bonuses that come with the CDs and journal.  If you can still find the limited edition box set priced $20 above the regular edition I would definitely say it’s worth buying.

Well, that’s it for today. I’m going to go play some more Ys and help out preparing for New Years Eve. Hope you all have/had a fantastic New Years!! See you in 2014!!!

1468507_10152128381439419_745494120_n

2 responses to “Ys: Memories of Celceta – Silver Anniversary Edition Unboxing

  1. I’ve only played Ys Origins and Ys: The Oath in Felghana. Not a huge fan of the Ys Series, but is the Adol in Memories of Celceta the same Adol in Felghana? I mean, they both have red hair and the armor kinda looks similar… Anyway, Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

